Prof. Adekoya Emerges UNILAG Muslims Alumni President


The University of Lagos Muslim Alumni (UMA) has elected Prof Khalid Adekoya as its president for the 2022-2024 administration year.

Prof. Adekoya, a professor of Cell Biology and Genetics at UNILAG emerged as the alumni’s president through Shurah (a consultation method of appointing leaders in Islam) at the end of its 33rd Annual General Meeting/Congress held at the Islamic Centre Hall of the UNILAG Central Mosque on Sunday.

Announcing the result of the shurah committee, its chairman Alhaji Abdulkabeer thanked the outgone executive for their initiatives in taking the alumni to a progressive level and urged the incoming executives to raise the bar from where the former stopped.

At the height of the moment of announcing the new executives, the Shurah chairman appeals to the would-be executives to see the position as a trust from Allah and ensure they do their best in promoting the ethos of the association.

In the end, the following emerged as members of the executive; Mr Aliu Akosile was elected as deputy president; the Head of the Family Medicine Department at the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH), Dr Abdlmojeed Akogun, was elected deputy President II; Alhaja Mujidat Isiaka of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) elected as Deputy President 111 ( Special Duties); Alhaja Muhidat Bello who works as a Principal Manager with First Bank of Nigeria (FBN) was elected as the Vice President 1 (Akoka); Dr Azeezat Shopeyin-Dosunmu of LUTH’s Community Medicine Department was elected as vice President II; Professor in the Geography Department of UNILAG, Dr Shakirudeen Odunuga, and Superheads Nigeria Limited Recruitment Specialist Mustapha Kelani, as General Secretary and Assistant General Secretary. While the duo of The Nation Newspaper Head of Motoring Desk, Mr Tajudeen Adebanjo and Miss Azeezat Quadri re-elected PRO I and Ii respectively.

Others are Mr Yusuf Babatunde Jamiu (Financial Secretary); Dr Taofeeqah Abosede Adesalu, (Treasurer); Mr Abdul Kabir Kuye (Internal Auditor); Dr Ganiyat Tijani-Adenle (Welfare Officer I); Olokodana Adesalu (Welfare Officer II); Barr Akinyemi Sofiyullah Oladipo (Legal Adviser); and Ex-Alhaji Salis Afolabi Shuaib (Officio/Adviser).

In his farewell speech, the immediate past president of the Association who is now an ex-officio and Adviser, Mr Salis Afolabi Shuaib gave an account of his stewardship of the years he served as president.

Shuaib said though much still needs to be done his administration was able to deliver on key areas even in the face of many challenges such as the COVID-19 pandemic and the prolonged ASUU strike which deprive it of many of its annual scholarship programmes.

Shuaib who is the Chief of Staff to the Ogun State Governor is also Ogun Central Senatorial District candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the coming elections said his administration was able to invest in the Sukuk bond of the federal government and has also been able to secure bidding for hostels renovations from the school authority.

He said his administration was able to revamp the moribund website of the association and now make it functional.

The past president who revealed that a new constitution was made during his administration, presented the new constitution and a compendium of lectures held in the past was also presented to the public.

He thanked the members of the executive for their immense contributions to the success of the association urging the new executives to also show the President support and work with him for the success of the administration.

In his acceptance speech, Prof. Adekoya promised to work assiduously at ensuring that the association’s activities are taken up from where the outgoneexeutives stopped and surpass it.

To hit the ground running, Prof. Adekoya said “we will take UMA to the height it deserves through dint of hard work.”

Comments are closed.